Awards announced by Delray Beach Film Festival …

Delray Beach, FL, (May 24, 2009) On Sunday, May 24th, the Delray Beach Film Festival wrapped up its 6-day festival, screening more than 200 films from around the world.

We are pleased to announce the following awards and honors.  Please check our website for monthly screenings and come see the best of the DBFF.

* The Stella Artois Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert Davi.

* The Stella Artois Rising Star Award to Alexander Nevsky.

* The Stella Artois Rising Star Award to a new filmmaker to Paul J. Alessi, producer/actor “Knuckle Draggers”.

* Stella Artois Award for the Best Film by a New Filmmaker to Bajir Cannon, Director of The Distance between the Apple and the Tree.

* The Chloe Lifetime Achievement Award for Support of Independent Filmmaking to Giancarlo Esposito.

* The Frownies Award for Best Close-Up in a Motion Picture to Serah D’Laine, (Knuckle Draggers).

* Winners of the Script Writing Contest Sponsored by Final Draft -This year we have two winners:   Margaret Nussbaum and Jim Steech for M.I.L.F. and Shari Umansky for Son of M.I.L.F., a Madoff Tragedy.

* Script-to-Reel Short Winner, Sponsored by Perfect Vodka and Sony, to  Dan Pico for Heaven Above You.

* Best Feature Film Audience Award to Falling For Grace, Directed by Fay Ann Lee.

* Best Documentary Audience Award to Faded Glory, Directed By Rick Cohen.

* Director’s Choice for Best Documentary, War Against the Weak, by Pete Deemas.

* Special Award for a documentary that raises awareness of  contemporary issues, The Spitting Game, Directed by Denice Ann Evans.

* Best Short, How My Father Killed Dracula, Directed by Sky Soleil.

* Award for Best Experimental Short, The Green, Green Heart, Directed by Steven Lesser.

* Best Animation Short, Token Hunchback, Directed by Tim Reckart.

* Best Animation Feature, The Magistical, Directed by John Cernak.

* Audience Award Best Foreign Film , Hachipusheet (The Beetle) Directed by Yishar Orian.

* Best Foreign Film, Children’s Orchestra (Orquestra Dos Meninos), Directed by Paulo Thiago De Oliveira.

* Director’s Choice for Best Foreign Film, Lokas, Directed by Gonzalo Justiniano.

* Best Environmental/Green Award, Free River Park, Directed by Tara Nurin.

* Kodak Award  for the Best Student Shorts, Fades with Age, Directed Aaron I. Naar and Seth Roger Cuddeback.

* The Sara Fuller Award for Best Young Filmmaker  and Best Student Short to Florida  MIU Filmmaker, Xander Rey Soteras, for Ditched.

* Best Documentary by a Florida  filmmaker, Cracker – The Last Cowboys of Florida, Directed by Victor Milt.

* Music Video Award to F**K the FED!, Directed by Neal Fox.

* Award for Best Xtreme Sports Film to That’s It That’s All, Directed by Curt Morgan and Travis Rice.

* Best Feature Film by a Florida Filmmaker Film Contest?  V. Alex Marquez